CBC’s Tower Media breaks school award record at ACMA

On Friday, April 5, CBC Tower Media student journalists brought home 50 awards from the Arkansas College Media Association conference at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville.

Eleven colleges across the state participated in the competition and CBC received the second highest number of awards. Only the University of Central Arkansas earned more awards with 67. CBC also broke its record of awards, the previous being 32 awards in 2014.

The Tower received second place in newspaper general excellence behind Harding University’s Bison. The Threefold Advocate of John Brown University placed third and Northwest Arkansas Community College’s Eagle View received honorable mention.

The conference consisted of informative sessions on writing, design and production, a luncheon, a keynote speaker and the presentation of awards.

The keynote speaker this year was State Rep. Mark Lowery. He talked about the recently passed “New Voices” bill signed last week by the governor, which protects students at public colleges from censorship or interference from their administrators and protects students’ advisers from retaliation from the administration as well. The bill does not protect private college students as they do not receive funds from the state or federal government.

Here is the list of Tower Media awards from this year:

General Excellence

  • Newspaper of the Year – The CBC Tower, general excellence, second place
  • Newspaper Editor of the Year – Melody Siebenmann, first place
  • Yearbook Editor of the Year – Melody Siebenmann, honorable mention
  • Photographer of the Year – Mary Rice, third place
  • Designer of the Year – Jocelyn Waters, third place

2018 Carillon Yearbook

  • Cover – Mary Rice, third place
  • Introduction Theme Page – Mary Rice and Melody Siebenmann, honorable mention
  • Divider, “Centralize” – Mary Rice, second place
  • Endsheets – Mary Rice and Allison Bisher, third place
  • Feature Layout, “Finally Fall” – Carillon staff, third place
  • Feature Layout, “A Story Resung” – Carillon staff, first place
  • Academics Layout, “Periodic Prestige” – Carillon staff, honorable mention
  • Portrait Layout – Mary Rice, honorable mention
  • Sports Layout, “Grappling for Greatness” – Carillon staff, honorable mention
  • Sports Writing, “Twin Skeltons” – Shelbbie Tolbert, third place
  • Writing-Organization/Greek, “On the record” – Gabrielle Mueller, third place
  • Student Life Writing, “Let the Games Begin” – Mary Rice and Rachel Burns, honorable mention
  • Student Life Writing, “Smells Good Out Here” – Melody Siebenmann, third place
  • Special Features Writing, “Krystal Stelivan” – Melody Siebenmann, first place
  • Art/Illustration, “Centralize Our Memories” – Mary Rice, first place
  • Academics Photo, “Looking for a Cure” – Carillon staff, second place
  • Organizations/Greeks Layout, “Starting Off Right,” – Carillon staff, first place

Tower Web

  • Newswriting, “Recent budget reductions have little effect on students” – Jessica Sawyer, second place
  • Feature writing, “Valentine Feature: Tim and Lamona Gunter” – Jessica Sawyer, second place
  • Articles-Arts & Entertainment, “Deeper History” – Jessica Sawyer, first place
  • Reviews-Arts & Entertainment, “The Greatest Showman” – Nick Duckett, first place
  • Reviews-Arts & Entertainment, “Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle” – Rachel Burns, second place
  • Reviews-Arts & Entertainment, “Peter Rabbit” – Alejandro Mendoza, third place
  • Headlines, “Mustangs Stampede Little Rock” – Shelby Redmond, first place
  • News Photo, “MUD Week overview” – Emilee Brown, second place
  • Feature Photo, “Allison Seats” – Caity Baker-Worsley, first place
  • Art/Illustration, “United We Stand” – Rachel Burns, first place
  • Art/Illustration, “Thanksgiving Traditions” – Caity Baker-Worsley, second place
  • Sports Photo, “Mustang homecoming basketball games 2018” – Brittany Holmes, first place
  • Sports Photo, “Mustangs Stampede Little Rock” – Melody Siebenmann, honorable mention

Tower Newspaper

  • Feature Writing, “Purpose in Passing” – Melody Siebenmann, third place
  • Headlines, “A flick of the wrist” – Melody Siebenmann, second place
  • Headlines, “Get That Fire Back In Your Bones” – Melody Siebenmann, third place
  • Sports Photo, “Shooting for New Goals” – Noah Welter, honorable mention
  • Sports Story, “Cross country cruises to the finish line” – Melody Siebenmann, first place
  • Sports Story, “A flick of the wrist” – Mallory Sullivan, second place
  • Editorial Cartoon, “Capturing Contentment” – Rachel Burns, third place
  • Cartoon Strip or Single Panel Cartoon, “Capturing Contentment” – Rachel Burns, third place
  • Feature Page Layout, “Diversity in disability” – Jocelyn Waters, third place
  • Sports Page Layout, October – Jocelyn Waters, honorable mention
  • Sports Page Layout, November – Jocelyn Waters, third place
  • Editorial Page Layout, “Fighting that freshman 15” – 3rd place
  • Editorial Page Layout, “You are not alone” – Jocelyn Waters, second place
  • Editorial Page Layout, “Capturing Contentment” – Jocelyn Waters, second place

Tower Radio

  • Best Radio Imaging, “DJ Are You Ready Kids and DJ Aye Aye Captain” – Nick Duckett and Nathan Fish, first place
  • Best Interview or Talk Show, “The Dog House – Husky, Dingo, and Bazuso” – Eli McAlister, Bryant Wilson and Logan Cline, honorable mention

Photo by Natasha Durham, Jostens yearbook representative

Jessica is from Clarksville, AR and is a senior at CBC. Jessica is double majoring in English and History, with a minor in Communication. After she graduates, Jessica wants to go to graduate school for Museum Studies with a focus on collections management and publish a fiction novel. She is a radio DJ for Tower Media and is also the student library clerk on campus. Jessica’s favorite things to do include reading, writing, taking photos, hanging out with friends, and listening to music.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.